Which Side Are You On?

Invisibles quitely3 My thoughts never stray far from the Invisibles. So when my old friend CB texted me in the past hour, “What is your final take on the Invisibles?” I responded, “There is no final take. Each time I re-read it I come away with something new.” For this atheist it serves as a stand-in for a lack of a bible. And damn you Grant Morrison where were you years ago with this  four minute and fifty second video to explain all of existence and the finale of the Invisibles for me. I love watching the video just to see the expressions of the interviewer. Moving forward through time…

I’m in the midst of finally reading Grant Morrison and Steve Yeowell’s seminal work Zenith. After reading Phase I & II, I realized that the series is just that …seminal. In this work, Grant deftly lays the groundwork for his entire career. While I’m not plowing through Phase III as quickly as the first two, I’m positive in future readings it’ll all make sense.

That is the joy in reading Grant Morrison’s work. The complex and layered nature of it all necessitates constant visits to the material. Just recently I bought a copy of the deluxe hardcover Volume 1 of the Invisibles for Alternate Reality Sean. I anxiously await his take. In the meantime, it’s very possible that I will begin deciphering it again…

Leave a comment